LET NOT YOUR HEART BE TROUBLED – Martyn Lloyd-Jones (2009)

lloyd jonesI have developed a habit over the years.  Often times, when I get discouraged I turn to the writing of Martyn Lloyd-Jones.  Let Not Your Heart Be Troubled is a collection of sermons penned and preached before the doctor went to be with the Lord in 1984.  Each sermon is packed with Christ-centered wisdom and encouragement for weary pilgrims.  In typical Lloyd-Jones fashion, the gospel stands at the center of each sermon and beckons readers to the cross of Christ.

“For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.” (Psalm 62:1–2, ESV)

“For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah” (Psalm 62:5–8, ESV)

Leave a Reply

