SPIRITUAL LEADERSHIP – J. Oswald Sanders (1967)

My Dad has given me some very important books over the years.  I remember the first mind-rattling book that Dad gave me when I was about 17 years of age – LEADERSHIPMere Christianity by C.S. Lewis.  Other books have made a significant impact as well.  Leaders: Strategies for Taking Charge by Warren Bennis was a crucial book as I began my tenure as a pastor.  But I think the most significant book that Dad has given me to date is Spiritual Leadership by J. Oswald Sanders.  This gem first appeared in 1967 and has subsequently sold over 750,000 copies, a number far too small in my mind. My first exposure to J. Oswald Sanders came in the late 80’s as I began my undergraduate work at Multnomah University in Portland, Oregon.  Those were the days when my interests consisted of sports and rock music.  Listening to men like J. Oswald Sanders wasn’t exactly at the top of my priority list.  Oh, what a fool I was!  Only a few feet away stood a world-class Christian leader – a leader who I needed to learn from.  Thankfully, those days are long past, although I still enjoy sports and rock music!

Thanks, Dad for challenging me to read the good books.  I’m a better leader because of books like Spiritual Leadership by J. Oswald Sanders.

Leave a Reply

