A MILLION MILES IN A THOUSAND YEARS – Donald Miller (2009)

I spent part of my day off with Don Miller.  I should say that I spent part of the day reading his book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.  This is interesting because I have critiqued some of his writing.  But make no mistake.  Agree or disagree with his views, Miller can write – and he writes well.

My buddy Ron urged me to read this book, which I resisted at first.  But Ron knew how to reel me in.  “It’s an interesting book.  I think you’ll like it,” Ron said.  “And it’s about bikes!”

Miller is interested in telling a story.  And he’s very good at it.  But the more important point concerns the story in the lives of people: “I believe God wants us to create beautiful stories, and whatever it is that isn’t God wants us to create meaningless stories, teaching the people around us that life just isn’t worth living.”

While I may disagree with Miller on some points, this book has made me realize – “Hey, I like this guy.”  Maybe it is his gut level honesty.  Maybe it his love for reading and writing.  But I think it mostly comes down to his love for life and his ability to communicate real life stories in a meaningful way.

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years made me think and ponder.  It made me re-evaluate.  It forced me to ask important questions – some of which may not have answers.  But at the end of the day, Miller’s work is worth reading.  It might even motivate you to hop on a bicycle.  I think you’ll “enjoy the ride.”

4 stars

3 thoughts on “A MILLION MILES IN A THOUSAND YEARS – Donald Miller (2009)

  1. Pingback: SCARY CLOSE – Donald Miller (2014) | Veritas et Lux

  2. Pingback: Scary Close – Donald Miller | Veritas et Lux

Leave a Reply

